Numerous, other associations which were nationalist in character and sought to represent the interests of the Indian people as a whole were established subsequently. In 1866, for instance, East India Association was founded in London by Dadabhai Naoroji, Pherozeshah Mehta, Badruddin Tyabji and Manmohan Ghosh.

The major purpose of this organisation was to orient the policies of the colonial government towards the welfare of the Indian people by appealing to the British citizens. In 1870, Poona Sarvajanik Sabha was formed by M.G. Ranade, S.H. Chiplunkar and others in Bombay Presidency.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

In 1876, the Indian Association was formed by the young nationalists in Bengal who were disenchanted by the policies and activities of the British India Association. Surendranath Banerjea and Anand Mohan Bose were their leaders. It sought to unite the Indian people and carried agitations against government policies harmful to the Indians.

There were some other political asso­ciations that came into existence during this period. These included the Madras Mahajan Sabha in 1881, Bombay Presidency Association in 1885 and the Allahabad People’s Association. These associations gave rise to a political atmosphere which was suitable for the formation of an all-India nationalist political organisation.